Whilst Dean Castle undergoes a multi-million pound restoration and modernisation project, access to the castle will be limited. At the moment, visitors are able to see Medieval Kitchen in the Palace, and find find out about the Boyd family and the Restoration Project. To discover more about the Restoration project now, click the Development Plans page on the left.
Dean Castle, home and stronghold of the Boyd family for over 400 years, is open all year round and is free to visit. The Keep, dating to around 1350 will house outstanding displays that tell the story of the Boyd family and medieval life, as well as East Ayrshire’s stunning collection of arms and armour, once restoration is complete.
The 15th century Palace was spectacularly rebuilt from ruins by the 8th Lord Howard de Walden in the 1930s. The result is a sensitive restoration in keeping with the interior design of the 16th and 17th centuries and even re-using original 17th century fixtures and fittings taken from Balfour House, Fife. This building will tell the stories of the Howard de Walden family and showcase an internationally significant collection of medieval musical instruments.
As work begins on the Castle, the collections will be moved to Dick Institute on Elmbank Street, Kilmarnock, and a selection of objects will be exhibited at the Dick Institute during 2018.
Please note that the spiral staircases and narrow doorways may result in limited access to some visitors.
Tel: Dean Castle Country Park 01563 554743
Tel: Dean Castle 01563 554736